“…extraordinary music… Reijonen’s playing is deep and profoundly nuanced throughout”

“Reijonen’s musical universe has no frontiers. It is a beautiful, sensual mosaic of traditions and influences.”

“Musical cultures and sensibilities cross, evocatively… without blinking or apologizing.”

Bringing together five seasoned musicians from Finland, Turkey, Sweden, Palestine and Spain, JUSSI REIJONEN: un traverses the boundaries between musical cultures, paying tribute to the traditions of American and Scandinavian jazz and the folk musics of the Middle East and Africa in its search for new sounds and textures. Reijonen’s original music draws from a wide pool of influences and experiences gathered growing up in five different countries on three different continents; in both his original compositions and his playing, the open spaces and silences of Scandinavia effortlessly rub shoulders with the maqamat of the Arab world and the rhythmic richness of India and West Africa, creating a truly enchanting musical mosaic.

Between the five of them, the quintet – Reijonen on fretless/fretted guitars and the 11-string Arabic lute oud, Utar Artun on piano, Bruno Råberg on acoustic bass, and Tareq Rantisi and Sergio Martinez on percussion – shares an impressive resume that reads like a who’s-who of contemporary jazz and world music: the members have worked with the likes of Paul Simon, Jack deJohnette, Pepe de Lucia, Enrique Morente, Diego el Cigala, Simon Shaheen, Javier Limón, Maria Schneider, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Bobby McFerrin, George Garzone, Ben Monder, Mick Goodrick, David Fiuczynski, Steve Smith, and Alejandro Sanz. The Quintet traverses the supposed boundaries between musical cultures effortlessly, with a blend of humility, grace, and presence.

Jussi’s eagerly-anticipated debut album un was released to great critical acclaim in early 2013 on the unmusic label.



1. Serpentine
2. Naima
3. Bayatiful
4. Toumani (Blues for Mick)
5. Nuku Sie
6. Kaiku

Jussi Reijonen – fretless and fretted guitar; oud
Utar Artun – piano
Bruno Råberg – acoustic bass
Tareq Rantisi – percussion
Sergio Martinez – percussion

Ali Amr – qanun on “Bayatiful”
Eva Louhivuori – voice on “Kaiku”

All music by Jussi Reijonen
except “Naima” by John Coltrane, licensed courtesy of JowCol Music LLC
“Bayatiful” by Jussi Reijonen and Ali Amr
“Kaiku” vocal arrangement by Eva Louhivuori

Produced by Jussi Reijonen
Recorded 27-28 March 2011 at Wellspring Sound, Acton MA, USA by Maio Obregon and Nuno Fernandes
except Eva Louhivuori’s voice on “Kaiku” recorded 19 April 2011 at Global Music Centre’s Global Mobile Studio, Helsinki, Finland by Ilari Suonpää
Mixed at Studio A, Berklee College of Music, Boston MA, USA by Rob Jaczko
Mastered at Lurssen Mastering, Los Angeles CA, USA by Reuben Cohen

n©b / Teosto
℗ & © Jussi Reijonen 2012. All rights reserved.


1. She Never Wears Shoes (improvisation) – recorded in Boston MA, 28 Feb 2009

Jussi Reijonen – fretless guitar

2. Nuku Sie (Reijonen) – recorded at Jordan Hall, Boston MA, 21 Feb 2012

Jussi Reijonen – fretless guitar
Bruno Råberg – acoustic bass